Watching a drawing grow and preferring the first stage

img_20160313_152844.jpg
fine liner

I used my favourites of the traced bums images once again and overlapped them with each other. I wanted to be able to create a lot of movement through i kind of ‘collage’ effect.

img_20160313_153130.jpg
acrylic paint

I then used acrylic paint in 4 colours (i mixed some together to get different tones and shades) to highlight each section. I was inspired by cubism for this drawing  which is why i chose to divide up overlapping sections.

img_20160313_153229.jpg
outlined again

I am quite pleased with the end result but i really prefer the very beginning sketch. I don’t really know why either which is the annoying thing! I presume it is because it is cleaner and the lines are harsher, but i don’t know why i prefer that over the finished result.

Watching a drawing grow and preferring the first stage

Leave a Reply

