New drawing programme

A friend of mine recently told me about a new drawing programme that she had started to use. It is called ‘Sketchbook’.

As part of my course, i am having to use Photoshop and Illustrator, but i don’t really get along with it. I only really use it because i have too, and i use it as little as possible. Whereas, with this programme (i think she has created a monster by telling me about it), I AM ADDICTED!

It works in pretty much the same way. You can create layers, move objects and duplicate things you have just done. But it is fool proof. Everything makes sense and works how you expect it to. Logical.

The only problem i have found with it is, when drawing a separate section, it is best to do so on a new layer, as the moving tool moves the whole layer, not just the object. I, obviously, kept forgetting to do this. But once i remembered (most times) it worked perfectly!

There are so many tools to choose from, so many colours and so many shapes. It really has opened my eyes to the possibilities of digital drawing.

These two drawings were created on this programme, but drawn from my imagination.

I used one of the brush tools to create them. It is amazing! It actually works as a real paint brush. It starts off being filled with colour and gradually fades out, but if you go back over a solid colour section, it blends it, just like an actual brush would. Through working with layers i was able to build up my drawings and re-arrange them to make sure i got the best out of my work.

This was by far the most fun i have had with a digital drawing programme, and i will definitely be shouting from the rooftops about it.

So thank you friend of mine for showing me the wonders that is Autodesk Sketchbook.

 

New drawing programme

Leave a Reply

